Training > Bbtutorials > Modifying User access to Course

Blackboard - User Management - Modifying User Access to Course


The User Management area allows you to review student enrollment in your course. You can also maintain the course availability for a specific student to your course. You should always make the course not available to the student in lieu of entirely removing a student from the course. By not allowing access to the course, any work that the student may have completed will be retained. Removing the student will delete any student activity in your course.

In this tutorial you will learn how to navigate to the User Management area and modify access to the course for a specific student.

1. In the Control Panel, click on List / Modify Users under the User Management module.
  See larger image in new window

2. Enter the student's last name into the Search box and click on Search.
  See larger image in new window

3. Any students matching the Search criteria will be displayed. Click on Properties for the student that you will to not allow access to your course.
  See larger image in new window

4. Change the Available option under the Role and Availability section to No. This will not allow the student to access your course. All student work will be retained just in case you need to allow the student access to the course again. Click on Submit to update this information.
  See larger image in new window